Math, robots make school

Sixth-graders, from left, Azlynn Salinas, Jocelyn King and Kylee Hilterbran use technology and tiny robots in math class to work on computer programming skills.

Scoutmaster honored

Boy Scouts Troop 361 scoutmaster Chris Brewer, left, receives the Western Plains 2019 BSA Leader of the Year, and Jacob Nelson receives the Western Plains 2019 Rising Star Award.

Barger takes state prize

Behind The Ea Lookeba-Sickles eighth-grader Madilynn Barger, granddaughter of Chris and Charlotte Kreizenbeck of Clinton and daughter of Rex and Terri Lynn Barger of Lookeba, received the Art Integrity Award and a cash prize in the 2020 Youth Impressions Juried Art Show for her watercolor painting, “Ball Jar in Bloom.” More than 800 entries were submitted to the statewide youth art show, which is sponsored by the Oklahoma Arts Council.

The Senate Education Committee unanimously approved two bills recently to help the children of military families easily transition into the Oklahoma education system when their parents are transferred to the state. Sen. Frank Simpson, R-Springer, said the bills were necessary to help lessen the stress of military families regarding their children’s education when they’re preparing to relocate.

All gussied up

Clinton High School sophomore Myra Whitney grooms the Duroc pig she showed at the Junior Livestock Show at the Custer County Fairgrounds.

Williams recognized

Fourth-grader Thomas Williams has been awarded Student of the Month at Southwest Elementary.

Fourth-graders named top students

Southwest Elementary fourth-graders named Students of the Month are, from left, Enamore Jones, Gabriela Abraham, Juan Hernandez, Ellie Stottmann, Danna Solorio and Peyton Hoffman.

Ronnie Skinner and Reta Skinner to Brownen Rental Properties, LLC, WD. Lots 11 and 12, Blk. 11, Weatherford Original Townsite.

Eighth-grade students recognized at Honor Roll Breakfast

Recipients of the eighth-grade Principal’s Honor Roll who were recognized at a special breakfast sponsored by Clinton Public School Foundation are, front row from left, Kathryn Meacham, Kambree Davis, Baleigh Giblet, Charles Nieves, Jabez Gonzales, Garrison Rhoads and Rebekah Campbell; middle row, Pamela Smith, Clayton Morgan, Alexa Villanueva, Mariela Jacobo, Anna Christie, Brendan Bishop, Cooper Sulley and Susana Vasquez; and back row, Madison Harper, Caleb Savoie, Brianna Denney, Paola Ochoa, Everette Whitney, Bryale Johnson, Carys Garcia, Jaxen Mathews and Zachary Adams. Not pictured are Brian Izaguirre, Raul Lozano, and Selena Rios.